Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Rita D. Thurman, M.S., CCC, BCS-F

Board Certified Specialist in Fluency Disorders

American Board of Fluency and Fluency Disorders - Board of Directors

American Speech and Hearing Association - Certificate of Clinical Competence

Rita D. Thurman, M.S., CCC/SLP, BCS-F. Ms. Thurman has worked with children and adults with communication disorders for 40 years and is a Board Certified Specialist in Fluency Disorders. She is on the Board of Directors for the American Board of Fluency and Fluency Disorders. She is licensed in the states of Montana and North Carolina. She received her Master of Science degree in Communication Disorders in 1977 from Utah State University. Ms. Thurman has worked in the public schools, private clinics and hospitals in Utah, Idaho, Illinois and North Carolina, and has been in private practice in Raleigh since 1985.

Ms. Thurman has presented numerous workshops on evaluation and treatment for children and adults who stutter. Venues for her presentations include the North Carolina Speech and Language Convention, Montana Speech and Hearing Association, the NC Department of Public Instruction’s Exceptional Children Conference, the American Speech and Hearing Association’s Fluency Leadership Conference, the American Speech and Hearing Association annual convention (invited speaker) and the National Stuttering Association (NSA) annual convention.  

Ms. Thurman is an NSA Adult and Teen Chapter leader, in addition to sponsoring an annual, state workshop of FRIENDS: The National Association of Young People Who Stutter.

Ms. Thurman was awarded the 2012 North Carolina Speech, Hearing and Language Association’s "Speech Language Pathologist of the Year" Clinical Achievement Award for her work in providing services to people who stutter. She was awarded the National Stuttering Association's Speech Language Pathologist of the year in 2015.